Driving is a right, that many people take for granted. Because of this, losing your driver’s license can have negative effects. For instance, many individuals drive to work every day. For people who do not have access to public transportation, driving is crucial. Under these circumstances, losing your license may imply losing your ability to get to work and make money. In situations like this, some states offer conditional licenses. To learn more about whether or not New Jersey offers these licenses, read on and reach out to our skilled Monmouth County driving without a license attorney. Our legal team is on your side.
How could I lose my New Jersey license?
In the event that you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is highly likely that you will lose your license for a period of time. The length of time will differ depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and previous criminal history.
What is a conditional license?
In certain states, if you are able to prove that you will face extreme hardship resulting from the loss of your license, you may be able to receive what is called a conditional license. This is a temporary license that will permit you to drive under certain circumstances. However, it cannot be used as a replacement for a regular driver’s license and strict rules apply.
Does New Jersey offer a conditional license after a DWI?
Unfortunately, New Jersey does not offer a conditional license for those charged with DWIs. If you are facing DWI charges, it is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.
What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?
It is important to recognize that driving with a suspended license is a serious crime. If you have lost your license because of a DWI, and you continue to drive, you are ignoring court orders and endangering yourself and others on the road. This can result in license revocation for up to 2 years, in addition to a possible 90-day jail sentence. Also, you will most likely also encounter up to $250 in annual state surcharges for three consecutive years.
If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, our firm is on your side. The quicker you reach out to an attorney, the quicker you can obtain the assistance you need to fight these charges and move forward. Give us a call today to get started.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
If you require strong and dedicated representation for any family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning matter, contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.