Did you know that there are a number of different types of assault in New Jersey? Each type of assault carries its own penalties. Read on to learn more about assault charges in New Jersey.
Types of Assault
In New Jersey, you can be charged for the following:
- Simple assault: This type of assault relates to a person who attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or attempts by physical menace to input fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Because these physical menace crimes do not usually involve a weapon or cause serious bodily harm, they are usually not treated as seriously as other charges.
- Aggravated assault: When an individual purposely or knowingly causes injury to another individual with a deadly weapon it is considered aggravated assault.
- Domestic assault: When it comes to a domestic assault charge, physical harm is not needed to qualify as a charge. Individuals can be charged with domestic assault for stalking, harassment, or making threats. Right after receiving a charge for domestic assault, the person who was charged will receive a restraining order. Additionally, further harsh penalties and lifelong consequences will follow.
- Sexual assault: Sexual assault charges are serious and can be upgraded to aggravated sexual assault. In New Jersey,l aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime when it involves children under the age of 13.
Penalties for assault charges
Assault charges are serious. You may be charged with simple assault if you are found to have allegedly attempted to cause intentional or reckless bodily injury to another person. You may also face a simple assault charge if you negligently caused bodily injury to an individual with a deadly weapon (i.e. a firearm), or if you threatened someone with imminent serious bodily injury. The consequences of a simple assault charge include up to six months and jail and a $1,000 fine. This charge is a disorderly persons offense, which is a misdemeanor.
When it comes to aggravated assault, you may face between 18 months-10 years in jail/prison, as well as high fines.
If you are facing assault charges, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out today to discuss your case.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.