There are few things more damaging than receiving a DWI. Unfortunately, if you receive a DWI as a commercial driver, you risk more than jail time and a license suspension–you risk your livelihood. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Red Bank criminal defense attorney to learn more about CDL DWIs, the consequences you may face, and how we can help you fight those consequences. Here are some of the questions you may have about the legal process ahead:
What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?
The first thing you need to understand about CDL DWIs in New Jersey is that as a commercial driver, the bar is higher. Generally, in New Jersey, as a standard motorist, you will receive a DWI if you are caught driving with a Blood Alcohol Content of .08% or higher. That being said, as a commercial driver, you will receive a DWI if you are caught operating your vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of .04% or higher. If you are arrested for a DWI with a CDL, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- You will receive a 3-month license suspension on your standard driver’s license.
- You will receive a 1-year commercial driver’s license suspension.
- You may spend up to 30 days in jail.
- You may have to spend up to 48 hours at the IDRC
- You will have to pay a $400 fine.
What are the consequences of a CDL DWI with a BAC over .10%?
Though you only need a BAC of .04% to get arrested for a DWI with a CDL, if you are caught operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .10% or higher, you will most likely face even more severe consequences, which are as follows:
- A 1-year standard driver’s license suspension
- A 1-year commercial driver’s license suspension
- A $500 fine
- Up to 48 hours at the IDRC
- A 30-day jail sentence
What happens if I get a second DWI with a CDL in NJ?
If you do not hire a New Jersey criminal defense attorney at your side, you will lose your CDL for life. The additional consequences you may face are as follows:
- A 2-year standard license suspension.
- A $1,000 fine.
- A 90-day jail sentence.
- Up to 30 days of community service.
- Up to 48 hours at the IDRC.\
Contact our experienced Red Bank, New Jersey firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.