When a divorce happens, a couple has many things to consider before they can go their separate ways. If there are children in the equation, the parents must then decide how to create a new life for them. When the matter of child custody is determined, the issue of child support must also be addressed. While only one parent can maintain physical custody of their child, both parents are required to support their child financially in the state of New Jersey. In order to do so, child support payments are required by the non-custodial parent to the primary caretaker in order to continue this care. Childcare can become costly for one parent to handle by themselves in Monmouth County. When both parents pay their own share, it allows for a consistent upbringing of the child that they were once used to.
Factors to be Considered
There is not one solution for child support in the state of New Jersey. Because every family is different, the state created a system that allows courts to treat families as such. In order to come to a determination of child support, the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines were created. This is a formula that allows courts to come to a decision about child support that is based on every family’s own circumstances. The formula calculates both parents’ income with the child’s expenses in order to find a fair solution for support payments. The system is used for families who have a combined yearly income between $8,840 and $187,200.
Sometimes, families do not lie inside the income that is determined for the guidelines. When this happens, the court will look into several other factors in order to determine support payments. This may include:
- The child’s needs
- The child’s age/health
- The child’s education
- The cost of providing for the child
- The financial status of each parent
- Who has physical custody of the child
- Any income, debt, and assets of each parent
- Each parent’s earning capacity
- Each parent’s employment history
When Does Child Support Stop?
Child support is only required by parents until their child reaches the age of emancipation. This means that a child can be financially independent. In the state of New Jersey, the emancipation age is typically 19 years old. However, this is subject to change under certain circumstances. If a child wants to seek higher education in trade school or college, a court may extend support payments until the child graduates. Support payment lengths may also vary if a child is disabled in any way.
Contact our Firm
If you or a family member is seeking representation for a child support case, contact the Law Offices of George J. Mardinly today.
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.