This Labor Day, you are most likely going to travel to your friend or relative’s house to celebrate. Of course, it is completely fine for you to have a drink, as long as you are not driving. Unfortunately, however, if you are someone who has been charged with a DWI this Labor Day, you must continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about the potential consequences of DWIs in New Jersey and how we can help you. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the consequences of a first-offense NJ DWI?
For a first-offense DWI in New Jersey, you will most likely face the following consequences:
- You will be required, by law, to install the Ignition Interlock Device for up to 6 months and pay all associated costs.
- You face a 30-day license suspension.
- You risk spending up to 30 days behind bars.
- You will have to pay a $500 fine, as well as spend up to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, at your own cost.
What are the penalties for a second DWI in New Jersey?
For a second DWI in the state of New Jersey, you risk facing even harsher consequences, including, though not necessarily limited to:
- Up to 90 days of incarceration
- You will most likely have to pay a $75 fee towards Neighborhood Services Fund, as well as a $100 fee towards the Drunk Driving Fund
- You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, at your own cost
- You will also have to pay an additional $1,000 fine, on top of a $1,000 yearly surcharge for up to 3 years.
- You risk a 2-year license suspension
How long will I lose my license for a third DWI in New Jersey?
For a third-offense DWI in New Jersey, you will lose your license for years, as well as face the following consequences:
- You may be incarcerated for up to 180 days
- You will most like have to pay a $1,000 fine
- You will lose your license for anywhere up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $100 fee to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- You will have to pay a $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
- You will most likely have to pay a $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund
- You may have to pay a $1,500 surcharge for three years in a row
- You will spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. at your own cost
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.