New Jersey has recently approved putting a vote for marijuana legalization on the 2020 ballot. This will, in effect, make the recreational use of cannabis legal for citizens over the age of 21. Experts say that the majority of New Jersey citizens will vote for legalization, though of course, legalization is not yet set in stone. New Jersey Senate President Stephen Sweeny said in a statement, “Legalization is a significant step in public policy that will have a real-life impact on social justice, law enforcement, and the lives of people in communities throughout New Jersey.”
While there is a very good chance recreational cannabis will be legalized in November 2020, it is still currently illegal to possess and sell the drug for recreational use. If you are facing legal trouble for the possession or sale of marijuana, please read on and speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about how we can help.
What happens if I am convicted of marijuana possession in New Jersey?
Under current law, you may face the following penalties for marijuana possession in the state of New Jersey:
- 50 grams or less: This is a disorderly person penalty, warranting up to 6 months of incarceration, and a $1,000 fine
- More than 50 grams: Potential 1.5 years of incarceration, as well as a $25,000 fine
What are the consequences of selling marijuana in New Jersey?
If you are caught selling marijuana in the state of New Jersey, you are looking at serious penalties that can change your life forever. Some of those consequences are as follows:
- Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years of imprisonment, as well as a potential $25,000 fine
- More than 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds: Up to 5 years of imprisonment, and a potential $25,000 fine
- Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: Up to 10 years of imprisonment, and a maximum $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds: Up to 20 years of imprisonment and a potential $300,000 fine
- The distribution of marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: Up to 5 years of imprisonment and a potential $150,000 fine
- If you are caught selling marijuana to a pregnant woman, you risk your sentence being doubled
If you have recently been charged with a marijuana-related offense in New Jersey, it is paramount that you retain the legal assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.