Marijuana Possession in New Jersey

Many states throughout the country are moving closer to legalizing recreational marijuana. New Jersey, however, is not one of them. When an individual is charged with the possession of marijuana in New Jersey, they will face serious consequences upon conviction. Of course, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney that can look for defenses.

According to federal drug scheduling, marijuana is considered a Schedule I drug. Despite this, New Jersey has created a set of consequences that cannot be applied to other Schedule I drugs. The penalties for the possession of marijuana are largely dependent on the amount of marijuana that was in the individual’s possession at the time of the arrest.

The consequences of a marijuana possession conviction are as follows:

  • If the individual has 50 grams or less in their possession, they will face a disorderly persons offense, up to 6 months of incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000
  • If the individual had more than 50 grams in their possession, it is a crime resulting in up to 1.5 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $25,000
  • If the individual was arrested within 1,000 feet of a school, they will also face additional fines and 100 hours of community service

If you have been charged with marijuana possession in New Jersey, contact our firm today.

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters,Β contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.