New Jersey Updates its DWI Laws

DWI’s are some of the most common, though also the most dangerous traffic violations. Though every state is harsh on drunk drivers, New Jersey is taking an initiative to comprehensively deal with the problem on multiple levels. While yes, people should not drink and drive because it is illegal and dangerous, they should also not do so for their own health.

Drinking problems very often stem from other issues. When people are caught driving under the influence for the first time, their lives are can be turned upside down, dragging them even further down. For example, if their license is suspended, they may lose their job due to their lack of transportation. This can further exasperate drinking problems, and only increase the likelihood of a re-arrest. Please read on to learn more about what New Jersey has done to change the laws around drinking and driving:

What is the new DWI law in New Jersey?

The new DWI law updates the penalties of a first-offense DWI to better reflect the nature of the crime and to hopefully curb future DWIs. For a first-offense DWI in New Jersey with a BAC between .08% and .10%, you will face the following:

  • Mandatory ignition interlock device at your own cost for 3-6 months
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time

If this is your first offense and you had a BAC between 0.10%-0.15%, you will have to install the ignition interlock device for 6 months to a year, and you face a license suspension of 45 days. For first-time offenders with a BAC of .015% and higher, you will install and use an interlock device for 12-18 months and face a license suspension of 90 days.

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI in New Jersey?

The penalties for a second-offense DWI are as follows:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 2-year loss of license
  • $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund

What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI offense?

You may face the following consequences if this is your third or subsequent offense:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • 10-year loss of license
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving FundA $75 Neighborhood Services Fund

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.