New Years’ Eve DUIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

There are few criminal penalties worse than DUIs, as they not only affect your social and work life by preventing you from driving, but in many cases, you will also receive a criminal record upon conviction. However, you should understand that as of last year, New Jersey updated its DUI laws, making the penalties for first-offense DUIs slightly less severe. That being said, these consequences can still have a significant impact on your life, which is why if you are someone who has recently been charged with a DUI this New Years’ Eve, the most important thing you can do is to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who can fight your charges through every step of the legal process ahead. Please continue reading to learn more about the consequences of first-offense DUIs in New Jersey and how our firm can help you combat them:

What happens if I get a first-offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content between .08% and .10%?

For a first-offense DUI in New Jersey with a BAC between .08% and .10%, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • A license suspension until you install the ignition interlock device
  • IID use for 3 months
  • Various fines and fees associated with a DUI charge
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .10% and .15%?

If you are charged with a higher BAC than .10% but lower than .15%, you will face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A suspended license until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Fines & fees associated with the charge

Will I go to jail if I get a DUI with a BAC over .15% in New Jersey?

When someone is arrested with a BAC over. 15%, it means they were driving while way past the legal limit. For this reason, you will most likely face very serious consequences, including a potential 6-month license suspension, the mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for at least 15 months, and fines and fees. If you need an attorney to help combat these charges, simply speak with our knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorney today. Our firm is ready to do everything in your power to assist you.

Contact our experienced Red Bank firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.