No Fault Divorce in New Jersey

When a married couple feels as though their marriage is simply no longer working, they may want to consider filing for divorce. Of course, this decision is not made lightly, as this is often the most significant chapter in an individual’s life coming to a close. The beginning of the divorce process requires the individual filing to fulfill two initial factors: the residency requirement and grounds for divorce. If an individual wants to do so, they can cite one of the following grounds for divorce:

  • Adultery
  • Desertion
  • Extreme cruelty
  • Substance abuse issues
  • Institutionalization
  • Deviant sexual conduct
  • Imprisonment

However, New Jersey allows the individual to opt for a no-fault divorce if they so desire, which allows them to avoid any additional burdens of citing grounds for divorce. If an individual chooses to cite fault, they must prove that the issues cited occurred. That being said, citing no-fault divorce allows the couple to start the divorce much quicker. No-fault simply requires the couple to have had a separation for at least 18 months or have irreconcilable differences for at least 6 months before filing.

If you have questions about filing for divorce and whether it is worth it to cite fault when filing, it is important to speak with an attorney that can provide you with assistance.

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters,Β contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.