Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is taken very seriously in New Jersey because not only is the life of the driver put at risk, so is the life of everyone else in the car and on the road. Those who are convicted of driving while intoxicated with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent may face the following consequences:
- A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
- A license suspension for 3 months
- A $1000 surcharge each year for three years (totaling $3000)
- Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and the associated fees
- A fine between $250 and $400
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
- A $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund
It is also important to note that if an individual has a blood alcohol content over .10 percent, they will face the same consequences but their driver’s license will be suspended for 7 to 12 months and they will face a fine between $300 and $500. If the individual’s blood alcohol content is greater than .15 percent, they will be required to install an ignition interlock device during and after the license suspension.
If you have been charged with a DUI, contact our firm today.
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.