Police to Issue Potentially Record-Setting DWI Numbers This Thanksgiving Weekend

Thanksgiving Weekend is a time for celebration, and when people celebrate, they very often drink. There is nothing wrong with enjoying yourself this weekend, however, you must ensure you do so responsibly. This means refusing to get behind the wheel even after having just one drink. In the last 6 years, there have been over 800 alcohol-related fatalities on the road. This is a frightening statistic, however, it is not frightening enough to keep all drunk drivers off the road. If you have been arrested for a DWI this Thanksgiving weekend, you must read on and reach out to our firm to learn more about what you are up against, and how we can help. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

Even a first-offense DWI can bring about lasting consequences, including a criminal record that may follow you for the rest of your life. Penalties for a first-offense DWI in the state of New Jersey are as follows:

  • Mandatory use of the ignition interlock device for up to 6 months
  • A 30-day license forfeiture
  • A potential $500 fine
  • Up to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time

What happens if I am charged with a second DWI in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a second DWI in New Jersey, you may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 2-year license forfeiture
  • A $75 fee towards Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A fine between $500-$1000
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
  • A $100 fee towards Drunk Driving Fund

How long will I lose my license for if I am convicted of a third DWI in New Jersey?

A third or subsequent offense may cause you to lose your license forever, as well as spend about half of a year in jail. You cannot fight a DWI offense alone. For a third or subsequent offense, you may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 180 days of jail time
  • 10-year license forfeiture
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee
  • A $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate toΒ contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.