What are the Consequences of a CDL DWI in New Jersey?

If you are a commercial driver who has recently been charged with a DWI, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced New Jersey DWI attorney to learn more about the legal process going forward and how our firm can help. Here are some of the questions you may have about CDL DWIs in New Jersey:

What are the consequences of a DWI with a commercial driver’s license in New Jersey?

Commercial drivers, like all other motorists, are expected to abide by all rules and regulations of the road. Rather obviously, this means that they are not allowed to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. However, commercial drivers, such as bus or truck drivers, have special commercial licenses that hold them to even higher standards than regular driver’s licenses. This means that if you have a CDL and are arrested with a BAC of .04%, you can be charged with a DWI, as opposed to the standard .08%. For a first-offense CDL DWI with a BAC of .04%, you may face the following consequences:

  • Fines between $250-$400
  • Between 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A driver’s license suspension of 3 months
  • A CDL license suspension of 1 year

What are the penalties for a first-offense CDL DWI with a BAC over .10%?

If you are arrested and found with a BAC over .10%, you face even stricter consequences. They are as follows:

  • Fines between $300-$500
  • Between 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Between 7 months and 1 year of a driver’s license suspension
  • A CDL license suspension of 1 year

What happens if I get a second DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

If this is your second DWI with a CDL, you will most likely lose your CDL for life. This can be detrimental, as your livelihood, as well as your life as a free man or woman, is at stake. If you find yourself in this situation, you must hire an attorney as soon as you can. You may face the following penalties:

  • A standard driver’s license suspension of 2 years
  • Fines between $500-$1,000
  • Between 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Between 48 hours-90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 30 days of community service

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.