What are the Consequences of a New Jersey Reckless Driving Ticket?

The roads are more unsafe now than ever. Between the thousands, or millions of people buried in their cell phones while behind the wheel of a car, to those weaving in an out of rush hour traffic like racecar drivers, anything can happen on the road, at any time. Not only are there distracted drivers making our roads unsafe, but there are also many motorists who believe it is acceptable to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This, rather obviously, is not the case, and doing so creates an unsafe environment for everyone around them. This is why it is your duty as a responsible motorist to ensure you do what you can for a safer tomorrow. However, if you have been charged with a reckless driving offense, you are most likely facing severe consequences. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the potential penalties for a first-offense reckless driving ticket?

According to the state of New Jersey, the definition of โ€œreckless drivingโ€ is a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. Some specific situations that may constitute a reckless driving ticket include DUIs, excess speeding, and wilfully damaging property.

  • 5 points on their driving record
  • Imprisonment up to 60 days
  • A fine up to $200
  • Possible license suspension

What are the potential penalties for a second reckless driving offense?

If you have been charged with a second reckless driving offense, the courts will view you as a repeat offender, and will not show you mercy. This is why you must hire an experienced and aggressive attorney who will fight to get your charges reduced. Points to your license may cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket, which may stick around for years to come. Additionally, jail time is always a bad thing to have on your record, and it may prevent you from getting the job of your dreams in the future. Here are some of the potential penalties for a second New Jersey reckless driving offense:

  • Fines up to $500
  • Imprisonment up to 90 days
  • Possible license suspension

Contact our experienced Monmouth County firm

If you believe you have been wrongly charged with a reckless driving offense, do not hesitate to contact an experienced attorney as soon as you can. He or she may have your penalties mitigated, or, in some cases, completely dropped. We would be honored to help you.

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.