Assault charges are serious, which is why if you have been convicted, you will need to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly, our legal team will ensure that you and your future are protected. Contact us today to schedule your first meeting.
What are the consequences of assault charges in New Jersey?
New Jersey courts examine several different factors when determining penalties for assault charges. In some situations, simple assault convictions can end in restitution, probation, up to six months in jail, community service, and fines. On the other hand, first-degree assault charges can result in 10 to 20 years in prison and fines up to $200,000.
Do not hesitate to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have been charged with any degree of assault in New Jersey. A skilled criminal defense attorney will be able to fight for you and help lower your charges.
What are the different types of assault charges in New Jersey?
There are various recognized types of assault that vary in both severity and consequences. Even if an individual did not cause any physical harm, he or she can still face serious charges and penalties. In the state of New Jersey, a failed assault attempt can end up in severe criminal charges as well as other threats that cause victims to fear for their safety. The most common assault charges include:
- Simple assault: This type of assault relates to a person who attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or attempts by physical menace to input fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Because these crimes do not usually involve a weapon and they typically cause little harm, they are usually not treated as seriously as other charges.
- Aggravated assault: This charge applies when an individual purposely or knowingly causes injury to another individual with a deadly weapon.
- Domestic assault: It is impossible to avoid charges once police arrest an individual that has been accused of domestic assault. With a domestic assault charge, actual physical harm is not needed to qualify as a charge. Individuals can be charged with domestic assault for stalking, harassment, or making threats. Right after receiving a charge for domestic assault, the person who was charged will receive a restraining order. Additionally, further harsh penalties and lifelong consequences will follow.
- Sexual assault: An example of aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime in New Jersey when it involves children under the age of 13, even if it was consensual sex. Unfortunately, in the state of New Jersey, it is not uncommon for false accusations of sexual assault to arise.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.