If you were charged with an underage DWI, you will likely face severe life-altering consequences. That is why it is critical that you obtain a dedicated New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Our firm is prepared to do all things necessary to protect you and your future.
What constitutes an underage DWI?
If a driver over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above gets caught, they will likely face DWI charges. However, if an underage driver (below the age of 21), is pulled over with a BAC of just .01%, he or she can face serious consequences.
What are the penalties for an underage DWI in New Jersey?
The result of a DWI charge for an underaged individual typically depends on your BAC and if there were any prior convictions. If you are underage and received your first DWI offense, you will likely face:
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated
- Driver Resource Center
- Various fees and fines
- A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
What should I do if I was charged with an underage DWI?
New Jersey has does not tolerate DWI charges, which is why it is necessary to comply with law enforcement after you have been pulled over. For example, if you fail to take a breathalyzer test, your punishments may be worse. If you are pulled over and charged with an underage DWI, you will likely face even harsher consequences. It is crucial that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. There are many defenses that can be used by those charged with a DWI. Some of the most common include:
- Failure to abide by the 20-minute rule
- The initial traffic stop was conducted illegally by the law enforcement officer
- Issues with field sobriety tests
- The officer did not read all of the instructions, the officer did not demonstrate the test, the officer failed to inform you that you can remove your high heels
- You had health issues that hinder your capacity to successfully take the field sobriety test
It is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have been charged with an underage DWI. Our firm is equipped with the knowledge and experience required to examine all possible options of defense. Reach out to us as soon as possible to begin building your case.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.