What are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in New Jersey?

Driving a motor vehicle is a huge responsibility. Every time you get behind the wheel of a car, you must realize that you are operating a machine that has the ability to cause severe damage if handled carelessly. Unfortunately, many people understand this, though they do not keep it in mind once they start driving. If you are driving without a license, you are most likely either unlicensed or have had your license suspended. Driving is a privilege, not a right, which is why there are laws in place to punish people who violate that premise. If you have been charged with driving without a license, here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am caught driving without a license in New Jersey?

Those who are caught willingly and wantonly operating a motor vehicle either without a license or while knowing their license is suspended, are treated very harshly by the New Jersey court system. If you have been caught driving without a license, it is crucial you retain experienced legal counsel who is ready to fight your charges, tooth-and-nail. While driving without a license is a very serious ticket, a knowledgeable and aggressive attorney can fight to have your charges lowered, or even dropped altogether. According to the N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, penalties for driving with a suspended license are as follows:

  • First offense: $500 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months
  • Second offense: $750 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment up to 5 days
  • Third and subsequent offense: $1000 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment for 10 days

If you got into an accident and injured another party while driving without a license, you face potential jail time ranging from 45 to 180 days. If in the worst-case scenario you kill someone while operating a motor vehicle without a license, you may be charged with a crime in the third degree. Motorists can face additional charges if they were driving without a license and either received a DUI, refused to submit to a chemical test, were driving without insurance, or are habitual offenders. Do yourself a favor and get in touch with our firm as soon as you can. With a serious charge against you, you cannot afford to wait.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate toΒ contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.