What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession Charges in New Jersey?

It is a serious offense to be charged with a drug crime in New Jersey. It can result in consequences that have the potential to detrimentally affect a person for the rest of their life. These consequences can vary depending on the type of drug and the amount in their possession. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced Monmouth County criminal defense attorney to learn more about drug possession penalties in New Jersey and for assistance with your case.

Will I face drug possession charges for any amount of marijuana in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, it is now legal to possess up to one ounce of cannabis. However, if you are caught with more than one ounce, you will likely face criminal charges.

What happens if I’m accused of cocaine possession?

Individuals in possession of less than half an ounce of cocaine may face a fine between $35,000 and $75,000 as well as a prison sentence up to 5 years. Additional penalties could include the loss of their driver’s license, enrollment in a mandatory drug education and rehabilitation program, and 100 hours of community service if it was within 1000 feet of a school.

Will I go to jail for heroin possession?

There are different degrees of heroin possession charges in New Jersey. These can vary depending on the quantity in possession. Small amounts of heroin may result in a third-degree crime, while larger ones may be a first or second-degree crime. The consequences of this possession charge can include a fine up to $35,000 and possibly 5 years in prison. If there was an intent to distribute the drug or they were charged near a school or a park, these consequences can worsen.

Can I face jail time for illegally possessing prescription drugs?

Those who are in possession of illegal prescription drugs can face fines, jail time, and a criminal record. The higher the amount of drugs in their possession, the more severe these consequences can be. This can vary from a minimum of 18 months in jail to a maximum of 10 years. Fines may also range from $1,000 to $300,000.

If you have any additional questions or need a competent Monmouth County drug possession attorney in your corner, contact the Law Offices of George J. Mardinly today.

Contact our experienced Red Bank firm

If you require strong and dedicated representation for any family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning matter, contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.