There are few traffic offenses more serious than those involving driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Just as the offenses are serious, the consequences you may face for being caught committing such an offense are equally severe. That being said, while the penalties for first-offense DWIs in New Jersey were recently slightly lowered, this is not the case if you are charged with an underage DWI, or a DWI while under the age of 21. These DWIs come with a special set of penalties, and if you are someone who believes that you may simply get a “slap on the wrist” because of your young age, think again. For this very reason, you must retain the services of a knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorney who has handled countless underage DWIs over the years. Please continue reading and speak with our firm to learn more about the penalties you may face and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What BAC must I have to be charged with an underage DWI in NJ?
While those over the age of 21 must blow .08% or higher to be charged with a DWI, if you are under the age of 21, you can receive a DWI for being caught with a BAC of even .01%.
What are the penalties for an underage DWI in New Jersey?
If you are charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, you are looking at a wide variety of very serious penalties, including the following:
- You will most likely have your license suspended for between 30-90 days. (Teens who hold probationary licenses must complete a four-hour remedial driving course, and they may not receive their basic driver’s license for up to a year.)
- If this is your second or subsequent underage DWI, you will face an even harsher license suspension.
- Anywhere between 15-30 days of mandatory community service
- You may have to participate in the IDRC at your own cost. Generally, participating in this program entails an extensive evaluation, which includes an interview and potential treatment.
The bottom line is that if you are someone who has recently been charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, you have a lot on the line, and our firm is here to help. Please do not hesitate to give our New Jersey criminal defense attorney a call today.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.