In today’s society, individuals rarely go anywhere without their cell phones. Typically, cell phones are within arm’s reach even when behind the wheel. Technology advancements have equipped vehicles with hands-free technology that allows motorists to use their cell phones without actually having to hold or look at their phones. This type of technology has been created to deter individuals from using their cell phones while they are behind the wheel. However, despite this amazing new technology, many motorists still use their hand-held devices while behind the wheel. The state of New Jersey takes cell phone violations extremely seriously as distracted driving can result in devastating accidents and injuries. If you or a loved one has been issued a cell phone violation for texting while driving, please read on and contact a qualified Monmouth County Cell Phone Violation Attorney who can help defend your rights and interests.
What are the potential penalties for texting while driving in New Jersey?
Similarly to other traffic violations such as speeding, driving without a license, and reckless driving, cell phone violations carry harsh penalties. If this is a motorist’s first offense for a cell phone violation, they will be subject to fines between $200 and $400. If this is a motorist’s second offense within 10 years of their first violation, they will be faced with fines ranging between $400 and $600. It is important to note that any previous violations or points on a motorist’s license will affect the severity of their penalties. With that being said, if this is a motorist’s third or subsequent offense within 10 years, they will be faced with a potential 90-day license suspension, fines ranging between $600 and $800, and potentially 3 points added to their driving record. For many, these fines don’t seem as significant as penalties for other traffic violations. However, these penalties can have lasting negative effects on a motorist’s life such as significantly increasing their auto insurance premiums and losing their driving privileges.
Are there exceptions to New Jersey’s cell phone laws?
The only time a motorist is permitted to use their cell phone while behind the wheel is if they believe their life is in imminent danger. Moreover, if a motorist is reporting a medical emergency, collision, road hazard, fire, or a reckless driver on the road they are permitted to use their hand-held device. Only under these circumstances are motorists permitted to use their cell phones without hands-free technology.
In the unfortunate event that you have been issued a cell phone violation for texting while driving, don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our adept and trusted attorneys. Sometimes the consequences of a cell phone violation can haunt your driving record for a substantial amount of time. To prevent these penalties, allow our firm to represent your interests in court today!