New Jersey takes driving under the influence (DUI) very seriously. If you are pulled over and arrested for driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol, you will be taken to the police station in a squad car. So, what happens to the car you were driving at the time of the arrest? Read on to learn more.
What happens to my car after a DUI?
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence or for refusing to submit to a breath test in New Jersey, the police will impound your vehicle. You can reclaim your vehicle after a 12-hour impoundment period. While you can reclaim your vehicle, it is important to know that you may have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car. Additionally, you will lose your license for a certain amount of time.
What are the penalties for a DUI?
DUI penalties are tiered. This means that your penalties will depend on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and your prior convictions. If you are pulled over with a BAC between .08-.09%, and this is your first offense, you will likely face the following:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Mandatory license suspension until you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
- You will then have to use the ignition interlock device for 3 months
- Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- A $500 fine
- A $125 DWI surcharge
- A $100 DDEF surcharge
- Up to $33 in court costs,
- $75 for SNSF
- $50 for VCCO
It is important to know that if your DUI is .10% or higher, your charges will be upgraded. A BAC of .10%-.15% can lead to:
- A 45-day license forfeiture
- Up to 30 days of jail time
- Mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to 1 year
- A $250-$500 fine
- Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
A BAC of .15% or higher is incredibly serious, and can result in:
- A 90-day license forfeiture
- Up to 30 days of imprisonment
- Between 12 and 48 hours spent in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to 18 months
- A $250-$500 fine
If you are facing charges for a DUI, it is important to contact an attorney right away. Contact our firm today to discuss your case.
Contact our experienced Red Bank firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.