What to Know About CDL DWIs in New Jersey

Many people drive for a living. If your job involves driving, you may have a commercial driver’s license, also known as a CDL. If you receive a DWI with a commercial driver’s license, you may face serious consequences. These consequences can impact your livelihood as a result. Read on to learn more about CDL DWIs in New Jersey.

What Constitutes a CDL DWI in New Jersey?

Generally, in New Jersey, as a standard motorist, you will receive a DWI if you are pulled over while driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. But, the rules are even stricter for commercial drivers. As a commercial driver, you will receive a DWI if you are caught operating your vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of .04% or higher. If you are arrested for a DWI with a CDL, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • You will receive a 3-month license suspension on your standard driver’s license.
  • You will receive a 1-year commercial driver’s license suspension.
  • You may spend up to 30 days in jail.
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours at the IDRC
  • You will have to pay a $400 fine.

What are the Consequences of a CDL DWI with a BAC of over .10%?

Though you only need a BAC of .04% to get arrested for a DWI with a CDL, if you are caught operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .10% or higher, you can face even harsher penalties. This is because a DWI with an especially high BAC can be upgraded to an aggravated DWI charge. Some of the penalties you may face include:

  • A 1-year standard driver’s license suspension
  • A 1-year commercial driver’s license suspension
  • A $500 fine
  • Up to 48 hours at the IDRC
  • A 30-day jail sentence

What Happens if I Receive a Second DWI with a CDL in NJ?

If you receive a second CDL DWI, you can lose your commercial driver’s license for life. As a repeat offender, you will face increased penalties, which may include:

  • A 2-year standard license suspension.
  • A $1,000 fine.
  • A 90-day jail sentence.
  • Up to 30 days of community service.
  • Up to 48 hours at the IDRC.

If you are facing charges for a CDL DWI in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney. Reach out today to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced Red Bank firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate toΒ contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.