What You Need to Know About DWIs With CDLs in New Jersey

A DWI is a serious charge, no matter the circumstances. Unfortunately, a DWI with a CDL will not only affect your driving privileges, but also your livelihood. If this has happened to you, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced Red Bank criminal defense attorney to learn more about the potential consequences you may face and how our firm can help you fight those charges.

What happens if I get a DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

The consequences of receiving a DWI of any kind can be devastating, however, if you are someone who receives a DWI while on the job operating a commercial vehicle, you will most likely face even harsher consequences. Furthermore, commercial drivers are held to a higher standard. Generally, motorists receive DWIs when caught operating a vehicle with a BAC over .08%, however, commercial drivers may receive a DWI if they are caught operating their vehicle only with a BAC of over .04%. If this is your first offense, you can expect to face the following penalties

  • You may lose your regular license for 3 months.
  • You will most likely lose your CDL for one year.
  • You will most likely face up to $400 in fines.
  • You will have to spend between 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC).
  • You may go to jail for 30 days.

What happens if I have a BAC over .10%?

If you had a BAC over .10% at the time of your arrest, you will face even harsher penalties. They are as follows:

  • You will most likely have to pay a $500 fine.
  • You will have to spend between 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • You may go to jail for 30 days.
  • You may lose your regular license for up to 1 year.
  • You will lose your CDL for 1 year.

Will I lose my CDL forever for a second DWI in New Jersey?

Unfortunately, if this is your second CDL, without an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney at your side, you will most likely lose your CDL for life. You can expect to face the following penalties:

  • You will lose your regular driver’s license for up to 2 years.
  • You may have to pay $1,000 in fines.
  • You will have to spend between 12-48 hours at an (IDRC)
  • You may go to jail for 90 days.
  • You will most like have to do 30 day’s worth of community service.

Contact our experienced Red Bank, New Jersey firm

Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate toΒ contact The Law Offices of George J. MardinlyΒ to schedule a consultation.