Though marijuana has been largely decriminalized throughout the country, in New Jersey, there are still legal ramifications for the unlawful possession/distribution of marijuana. Please read on and reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about the consequences of such penalties and how our firm can help you fight your drug charges. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am caught with marijuana in New Jersey?
If you are someone who has been charged with marijuana possession in New Jersey, you are most likely facing various serious consequences. Of course, the amount of marijuana you are caught with largely affects the severity of the charges you will face. The penalties for marijuana possession in NJ are as follows:
- 50 grams or less: This is a disorderly person penalty, and you may spend up to 6 months in jail, and you may face a $1,000 fine
- More than 50 grams: For more than 50 grams of marijuana, you may spend up to 1.5 years in jail, and you may also face a $25,000 fine
Furthermore, if you are caught in possession of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, you will have to complete 100 hours of community service and pay more fines.
What happens if I am caught selling marijuana in New Jersey?
New Jersey cracks down harshly on all those accused of selling marijuana. The consequences for selling marijuana in NJ are as follows:
- Less than 1 ounce: Maximum of 1.5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- More than 1 ounce, less than 5 pounds: 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds: 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
- For the distribution of marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: 3-5 years in jail, $150,000 fine
If you are caught selling marijuana to a minor or to a pregnant woman, you will most likely face a doubled penalty.
Can I go to jail for growing marijuana in New Jersey?
If you are caught growing or cultivating marijuana in NJ, you will most likely face the following consequences:
- Between 1 ounce and 5 pounds (less than 10 plants): 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- Between 5 and 25 pounds (10, but less than 50 plants): 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds, or 50+ plants: 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
The bottom line is that if you are facing marijuana charges, you risk obtaining a criminal record, which may affect you for the rest of your life. Do not proceed without the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney at your side.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Our firm proudly represents clients in New Jersey who are faced with matters of family law, criminal defense, business law, real estate law, or estate planning. If you require strong and dedicated representation for any of your legal matters, please do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of George J. Mardinly to schedule a consultation.